Another Transplant

I ran into another New England transplant tonight. She moved to Taos from NH (she had lived near Gunstock) when her daughter was 10 because she preferred the friendly vibe here over the generally rough east coast attitude.

I’ve meet several people who have phrased their move westward as “escaping the east coast”. And after experiencing complete strangers buying me beers and expensive lattes firsthand, I have to admit, there might be something to that.

Granted, I’m an introvert, so such acts probably stand out in my mind more. But out here, when you say hello to someone they always say hello back; while if you do the same to someone in New England, most of the time you’ll get no response or an odd look and on occasion they’ll even flip you off.

~ by ghendar on January 6, 2009.