Starch

Compared to most people, I don’t have much in the way of allergies. Pollen, no problem. Dust, no problem. Animals, ditto.

However I do have an odd one. I have a slight skin allergy to starch. (nickel as well… as is found in those cheap coat hangers) I can’t wear shirts that have been starched (they itch and give me a rash) and it’s looking like I might have to start requesting special accomodations because some of these hotels use way too much of it on every linen they have.

At first I thought the back of my hand was just dry from being in the high desert, but upon looking closer it’s from the starch on the bed linens.

*sigh* Well, I’m off to call the front desk.

~ by ghendar on January 8, 2009.

2 Responses to “Starch”

  1. I’ve seen this before.

    It’s not starch, It’s mineral spirits in the laundry soap used to kill of bacteria and such. All though I’m sure they do put starch in them too. When you go to a hotel ask for baby blankets there washed in something different.

  2. Interesting. Thanks Dan 😉

Comments are closed.