Heart Of The World

The Better 3/4ths and I went to the Georgia O’Keeffe Museum and did a bunch of gallery shopping today. We got to see many well known photographs, all sorts of pottery (some being sold for the price of a fancy car) and ducked into a wide variety of import/export shops.

One of the shops we visited was filled with Tibetan clothing, artifacts and a varied assortment of what is best described as “tourist trap stuff”. The attendant was a young Tibetan man and we immediately got to talking like we were old friends. (Don’t worry, I’m not going bore you  with the details of our conversation or go into a rant about China’s invasion and occupation of Tibet.)

What I do want to say however, is that I have yet to meet a Tibetan who I haven’t had a great rapport with. In fact, I firmly believe that one would have to work deliberately and contrary to all manner of reason in order to walk away from meeting a Tibetan without a sense of peace, joy and compassion. All the more reason why the Better 3/4ths sometimes refers to Tibet and it’s people as “the heart of the world”.

Namaste!

~ by ghendar on January 9, 2009.

2 Responses to “Heart Of The World”

  1. I hope you’re getting pictures to share from along the way. How long in Santa Fe?

  2. For various reasons, not as many as I would have liked, but I plan on making up for it 😉

    We leave Santa Fe in a couple of hours. Headed to ABQ next.

Comments are closed.