The AZ Tire Massacre

Heading on i-40 West through Arizona, I noticed something really odd. From just outside of Kingman all the way to the CA border, there are shreds of tires lining the road. Miles and miles and miles of rubber chunks with rarely more than a square foot separating them… oh, and did I mention miles of them?

You’d think with that many remnant tire shards from flats that I’d have seen several people/trucks pulled over on the side of the road, but I didn’t see one. Perhaps it’s not until the summer when the road gets blazingly hot.

Of course, i-40 W also passes through the Mojave Desert (beautiful country in the early morning BTW) in CA and I’m pretty sure it gets even hotter there and I didn’t see any tire shards. Perhaps the tires that were going to fail, failed before they got there; similar to how computer OEMs  “burn in” their systems. The only other explination I can think of at the moment is that CA cares enough to send cleaning crews out regularly, but I’d like to give AZ the benefit of the doubt.

~ by ghendar on January 13, 2009.

One Response to “The AZ Tire Massacre”

  1. […] (It wasn’t long after leaving the Kingman stop when I began to cross through the area that I’ve already described in The AZ Tire Massacre.) […]

Comments are closed.