Stationary (cont.)

The new stationary got delivered today and I couldn’t resist immediately pouncing on and opening the box.

The Better 3/4ths was wooed by the pricing and ordered a set of business cards from them instead of our other printer for one of the new guys and while they have a decent gloss back, the face where all the info is, is not glossed so they don’t have the zing that I feel the others have. They are also smaller by about 1/16-1/8″, which, while not a showstopper, somehow manages to irk me.

That being said, they correctly rendered the color on the business cards (which our other printer was off on), so if there is an option to gloss both sides I’m all for using them going forward.

The envelopes are simply awesome if I do say so myself (even though the color is off a bit. More on color issues in a moment ). And the letterhead came out good, but I am seeing a couple of things that I want to change for the next print run. That’s not a knock on them, I just see some design tweaks that would work a little better.

One thing that really stands out to me is the difference in colors from one piece to the next. Sometimes the blue is spot on, then sometimes it ends up more purple. The ochre-ish yellow that I’m trying to achieve and that came out great on the business cards, is more of a yellow perhaps even a with a tinge of green (ugh) on the envelopes.

One can expect a little variation in color rendition when going between completely separate printing companies, but for it to be that varied across product from the same one print company is not very good.

I know it’s not a color issue on my end, because all of the colors in the files that we sent are exactly the same. So if it was a mis-calibration they should all be off. So it’s obviously a color calibration issue at the printer and I’m going to put contacting them to see if there is a solution on my todo list.

Calibrating for printing is a big chore. You basically have to create a profile for every device (monitor, printer, etc.) and every piece of media (ink, paper, etc.) and then use the right combination of them to properly convert the color between devices and media so that what you say you want ends up being what you get. For a home user it can be daunting and time consuming, but for a print house it’s essential. The lack if proper color management at a print house is unheard of, so the only explanation is that someone over there was asleep at the wheel.

Then again, maybe that’s why they were so much under the price of their competitors.

~ by ghendar on January 27, 2009.