A Fortunate Accident On The Golden Gate

goldengate

No, I didn’t smash up the KJ!

However as I crossed the Golden Gate on my way up, it occurred to me that the camera I had sitting next to me on the passenger seat should be pressed into service. The trouble was, the camera was in aperture priority at ISO 200 from earlier on and that’s not a setting that’s ideal for a lowlight shot, especially not one handed, in a car while moving. Normally this wouldn’t be hard to fix, but I was a bit busy driving at that moment. So I took a chance, pointed it at my windshield and pressed the shutter…

*click* the shutter opens…

Then a few seconds pass and I set the camera down so can concentrate on staying in my lane…

*click* I hear the shutter close beside me.

I didn’t even get to view it until I got home. In fact, I had completely forgotten about it.

It’s not my usual style, but there’s something about it that I like. Perhaps, in a way, I feel like it visually sums up my journey. The rushed blur of the light trails, the CA icon that looms large but dark and silent while at the same time bursting forth with an undercurrent of energy and the skewed untraditional angle.

~ by ghendar on January 28, 2009.