Adjusting To Adjusting

As hard as I try to get beyond it, I feel as though I’m still adjusting to the idea that I need to adjust.

We are habitual creatures by nature and while that’s not necessarily a flaw, it can certainly hold us back at times. That’s especially apparent once you move yourself >3000 miles and in the process, uproot pretty much everything related to whatever routines you had comfortably established for yourself.

I’m not complaining. After all, there were at least a few of my routines that I knew that I really needed to shed anyway. However, being aware of that still doesn’t make it any easier to transition away from them (If you can call dropping them like a rock on a set day a transition). So there are brief moments when I think back to them and feel a pang of sorrow that’s not too dissimilar to what one feels when reminiscing about friends they’ve lost contact with over the years.

Inevitably, I’ll eventually settle in to some new routines. If I’m mindful when I establish them, they’ll also be better than the old ones that I had, that established themselves in my life while I wasn’t looking.

~ by ghendar on February 8, 2009.