Back To KDE4?

It seems like it’s getting harder and harder to stick with KDE while avoiding KDE4. The latest Debian Sid repositories now have KDE4 which means my sidux installation is foisting it upon me. *sigh*

The rumor on the street is that the performance issues are largely resolved in the KDE 4.2.2 branch, but we will just have to see as I’m updating to it right now. (I’ll let you know how it goes later)

I’m still not sure if I can make peace with the KDE4 GUI interface itself though. To me it’s far too much like all the others and being a hardcore old school *NIX guy that’s a big turn off for me. I think what all those other OSes are doing is highly inefficient from a “getting stuff done” perspective and I’m not happy about their sacrificing efficiency just so grandma can get a warm fuzzy feeling from knowing that the buttons are all where she is used to them being.

Granted, if I continue to hate it, I can fall back on e17, which I still have installed, but I’ve been considering a rebuild anyways so I can reenable the encrypted partition scheme that I nixed when I moved from Kubuntu to sidux. I’ve been missing the sense of security that it provides when I’m traveling.

~ by ghendar on May 7, 2009.