KJ Repairs

I’m planning on bringing the KJ into the shop tomorrow. I’ve been having occasional trouble starting the engine up recently, even after only a short sit (dead battery symptomatic) and today it started stalling just as I got down the road. It seems like two problems, the battery and the fuel filter. Easy right? Not so fast.

Turns out Jeep choose a really miserable spot to put the fuel  filter. It’s either buried on top of the gas tank or inside it (perhaps out of concern that it would get raked across a trail rock), so it’s not something I’m especially keen to do in the driveway. As for the battery, the bolt was rotted through to the width of a thin piece of spaghetti and broke off at the slightest bit of pressure from me. As it looks like the rot has also involved a bit of the clamp itself, it needs to be replaced and I don’t feel like dealing with it.

At least I can get the oil changed and E-Brake readjusted while it’s in there, but the resulting bill not going to be pleasant.

After that, I’ll need to order a part from the dealership to fix the blower fan which, conveniently enough, also went out of whack today and only runs on high now.

So yeah, not exactly my best day.

~ by ghendar on July 31, 2009.

One Response to “KJ Repairs”

  1. good thing you’re taking a plane home.

Comments are closed.