Is It Safe Now?

An advantage of being on the west coast is that the time difference makes it easier, or at least a little more palitable, for me to check in on the shows that my brother produces.

I caught the last few callers on one of the shows last week and was very sad to hear so much stupity pouring forth from callers regarding the whole Gates arrest issue.

First, let me provide the disclaimer that I’ve done IT work for Skip (Professor Henry Louis Gates Jr.) in the past at Harvard’s W.E.B. Dubois Institute and some other ventures of his when I worked for an IT consulting firm based in Boston.

I found him to be a quite, calm and deeply passionate man of both great stature and intelligence. However, just like those warnings that you get in fine print from your Stock Broker regarding Mutual Fund performance; the human condition being what it is means that ones’ past history is no guarantee of future behavior. So I wouldn’t try to defend him on that basis even though I believe that it would be, to my knowledge at the least, out of character. But since he has a few new drinking buddies and the media has gone on to cover other things, anything I would have to add would be moot anyways.

All I can say is that I hope that some day the whole race issue will finally fade away. I don’t see why not, after all, our relationship with the British is not the sour thing that it once was during the US war for independance.

Let’s all drink a beer to that.

~ by ghendar on August 9, 2009.

2 Responses to “Is It Safe Now?”

  1. There are so many times that your perspective rocks.

Comments are closed.