On Utah

Portions of Utah look like they are either an abandoned excavation site or a bombing range. Other parts look like nothing… literally, it’s flat as far as you can see.

It’s some of the weirdest landscape that I’ve ever seen and the sharp transitions at the borders between the other states leads me to believe that it came to being because none of the surrounding states wanted any piece of it.

That’s not to say that it’s all bad. It certainly had it moments of majestic beauty as the above photograph shows. However that said, it’s still not a place that I’d purposely go out of my way to fly into to visit, which is probably why it’s such an attraction to me for another drive through.

If you add on having another shot at going through Colorado while I’m at it, you can tell that I have the feeling that my route back is already chosen for me. I am looking to be doing lots of photography after all.

Of course, a lot still depends on the weather and I have until Kansas City to really decide on exactly what the last half of my route will be.

~ by ghendar on December 28, 2009.