Death’s Last Grasp In 2009

2009 was a record year for the passing of many well known people.

However the moments between those headline grabbing occurences did not find Death sun-bleaching his bones at a private beach on a tropical island somewhere. No, he was still busy plucking less well known, though no less loved, people from amongst our flock.

I just received the very sad news late last night that among those who left us in 2009 was my dear friend Marty.

Apparently he was working his usual second shift on New Years Eve and laughing about something with his son who was there to keep him company and to ring in the New Year with him when he collapsed from a massive heart attack.

I deeply regret not having been able to stop in to see him in his final week. For all the miles that I travelled, those few more that I didn’t are going to haunt me.

Nothing is permanent. It’s an inescapable truth. Yet knowing it doesn’t make it any easier to accept, especially at times like these.

If Marty were still around, I’m sure he’d be the first one laughing about how he almost escaped 2009. But as it is, there is now one less of us and I’m very sad about it.

~ by ghendar on January 2, 2010.

One Response to “Death’s Last Grasp In 2009”

  1. I can’t tell you how sorry I am to hear this. Life is very short, how short for each of us is not for anyone to know.

Comments are closed.