The Smell Of The Ocean

I drove in today and noticed something I really hadn’t before and it’s that you can catch the smell of the ocean from my place. Obviously it’s not as prominent in the air as when you are on the coast itself, but it’s definately there.

Perhaps I overlooked it because much of the time the Sonoma Aroma is lingering in the air from all the agriculture going on around here.

I believe the reason I finally noticed it is that I have been breathing cool crisp mountain air for days which has sharpened my sense of smell.

It also doesn’t hurt that the long meditative drive has made me more mindful of my experiences either.
For example I’m definately picking up on more noises before as well. And to think that I used to think it was quite here.

~ by ghendar on January 2, 2010.