When You’re In A Forest

When you’re in a forest, it’s hard to step back and take in the beauty of a single tree. After all, it’s just like all of the other trees around you. Yet if you take any one of those majestic giants out of the forest and plop it down in the middle of a field, suddenly it becomes an object that draws in your eye as opposed to something that you are just trying to get around.

Likewise, if you live in a place where the grass is green in January, it’s hard to step back and take in just how beautiful the scene is. Especially since it’s the same scene all around you and you saw it just yesterday anyway.

So driving in from Tahoe felt like quite an eye opener as it reminded me of the paradise that I had almost forgotten I was standing in all along.

I had just spent the past 5 days (or 3000 miles if you prefer) driving through a snowscape. Amazingly beautiful as it was, snow was a common theme regardless of what state I was in the while away. Being winter, it certainly wasn’t something that seemed out of place and I have no doubt it probably made some places even seem prettier than usual. Dirt has limits to how beautiful it can appear when it’s not in a postcard.

In Tahoe, the snow banks were anywhere from waist high to above my head depending on drifts and pockets of microclimate. Then, as I descended from the high elevation all the snow magically disappeared in what was literally only a matter of miles and I was suddenly driving through plush green hills and mountains and looking once again at palm trees.

It was definately as stark a contrast landscape-wise than any other transition I had seen on my trip. And I’ll gladly admit that it made me really smile.

I really didn’t get out last weekend because it was my first full weekend back without any visitors and I felt the need to stay in and recharge a bit but I’m going to make a serious effort to venture out with my camera this weekend. I’m in paradise after all and it would be a shame to waste it.

~ by ghendar on January 12, 2010.