Telephone Lines

Here’s a quick one, since I’ve been too busy to post lately…

Given the choice of what side of the road to put up a bunch of ugly telephone poles and lines on it seems like they always put them on the side that has the better view so people will be motivated to look at the neglected side of the road more often.

I really couldn’t help observing as I drove across the country that the telephone lines were almost always on the side of the road where there would otherwise be a gorgeous view of the mountains or some other scene, while the side of the road that lacked these visual obtrusions was often just a plain-ish looking view. Though not there wasn’t always a plain-ish view on one side… sometimes the view was awesome on both sides, but that’s when they usually had telephone lines running along both sides.

I swear, I’m not making it up.

~ by ghendar on January 29, 2010.