A Groaning Death

I spent a late night Friday whipping together some prototype programs and all signs were that I would be spending my weekend productively basking in the warm glow of my laptop screen. That was until Saturday morning, when with a bunch of load groans, the CPU fan decided to stop working.

It’s not the first time that it has made that noise, it did it a few months back for about a day before going away as quickly as it had showed up. This time around however, the fan stopped spinning altogether and the system began to overheat.

At the moment, I’m turning it on for brief periods to copy things over to an external USB drive that I know have changed since my last backup. It’s a slow process, because I can only do it bit by bit while I keep a close eye on the temp and then I have to shut it down when it gets hot and wait for it to cool.

I guess renaming it to “badkarma” when I upgraded it to the Karmic Koala release was a bit prescient on my part.

For the moment, I’ve commandeered  “Om” from the meditation room while I decide what I’m going to do. (What can I say, I have a penchant for naming systems.)

I had actually been considering getting a desktop to have as my main system recently, with a Netbook for on the road stuff. However in the end, whatever I do will largely depend on if I can fix badkarma up. But first things first, I need to finish getting my data off before I open her up. After all, sometimes when you put them back together there are parts left over. 😉

~ by ghendar on February 14, 2010.