My First Post From My Cheap Upgrade

captivate birthday phone ya

Image by gavinrobinson via Flickr

Technology moves on at an incredible pace and there’s no better place to see that than by glancing at the current mobile handset market.

By all measures, my iPhone 3G is about as ancient as a rock compared to the devices that are on todays market and yet it’s only a mere 2.5 years old. Which is one of the (many) reasons that I’ve been planning on upgrading for quite some time now.

Well, the time of having Apple and the iPhone in my life (not to mention the worst program ever made… a.k.a. iTunes) officially ended on Thursday because a nice little box was delivered to my door containing a top of the line Android cell phone. It’s known by various names depending on what cell carrier you choose, but its manufactured model name is the Samsung Galaxy S.

The Non-contract list price is $579 and if you want it unlocked it runs for about $659, but with the carrier subsidy discount, most people pay $199 for it.

So why did I call it a cheap upgrade? Because, I’m not most people and it turns out that I inherited my mother’s ability to seek out and pounce on a crazy deal.

Instead of paying $579.00 or even $199.00 I shelled out all of a whopping $19.99 for this beauty.

Oh, and did I mention the free 2-day shipping?

Internet shopping FTW!!!

~ by ghendar on November 13, 2010.